QIHASME

Questions I Have About Social Media Etiquette

I’m new to social media. Though I’m not old in years (unless you count 36 as old, WHICH YOU DO NOT), I do have a bit of an antiquated mentality when it comes to technology.

Here’s me in a Facebook message to a friend in 2008:

  • facebook

jenny – i joined facebook at the request of a friend; now i get these “friend” emails but i’ve only been on my page once, so i have no idea how this works. i got something saying a friend sent me a “drink” and to join the happy hour. and someone else sent me a flower and i had the option to send one back and end global warming. What? i think i may have to de-join. what do you do on it? is it worth the time?
jess

I ended up closing my account only to reopen it earlier this year when I realized I was going the wrong way on the wrong train.

I have some questions regarding things I have seen while communicating online. I could Google the answers, but I find Google has a tendency to cut conversations short and is the largest threat to the pastime of wondering.

So I’ll pose my questions to you. Please help.

1. Why the asterisks? As in, “I * love * that blog, True STORIES.” Are asterisks likes Internet hearts?

2. If someone writes something sad on her Facebook wall, I notice people still “like” it. And if someone appreciates a comment, they “like” it as well. I’m assuming liking something is synonymous with offering condolences, support, and appreciation. Do I have this correct?

3. Why the @ sign in front of names? As in, “@Jessica, I will subscribe to your blog immediately.” I’m assuming this originated when some commenters on various Internet sites had no name, just a web address. But some people add the @ even when using first names. Are they just super techy-cool?

4. Someone please, for the love of brownies without nuts, explain schoolFeed to me. But if you can’t do it in one sentence, forget it. I’ll just start ignoring the messages requesting I follow or add or whatever-the-hell people I went to high school with. And then I’ll join it again in about four years.

5. Do you have an e-reader? And if so, do you ever download the free novels? (This is a selfish question having nothing to do with my ignorance of social media etiquette and everything to do with personal research.)

Okay, that’s all for now. Talk to you later and ta-ta for now.

8 thoughts on “QIHASME

  1. No idea what the * means. I usually use it to correct a misspelled word in a comment or text that I can’t take back. The way you’re saying you see it used must be something folks in their mid 30’s do….:)
    People will “like” something as a way of saying, I hear ya, I agree, I like it, I hate it too, I am sorry, or I read this…..the list goes on. Rarely does it mean, “I am happy for your loss, or sadness, or despair.”
    The @ either has something to do with that thing called Twitter (same with the # symbol). Or….the @ just means who you are referring to. About a year ago, putting an @ in front of a name notified that person that you were talking about them. Now people continue to do it because they are confused. Or maybe I am.
    SchoolFeed is just some silly app or something that puts you in even closer contact with HS friends….because Facebook isn’t enough. I might be wrong, but that’s rarely the case.
    I do not have an e-reader….but our parents do. I prefer the feel and smell of a real book. If they give away free novels at Barnes and Noble, I’d read it.

    Love,
    Your wiser sister, Katie

  2. I haven’t any idea how to answer any of your technical questions. I guess I just wonder and never really want to know!!! I “liked” this blog entry and that is a good thing.

  3. Very Seinfeld-ish :). Things people think everyday, but never really talk about or bring to light. I also feel this is a generation gap…I am often confused at the @, #, likes, etc. Not sure what they mean exactly. Especially with the short tezts – ty, lmao, omg, etc.

    • Ha, no kidding. I suppose devoting a whole post to an example of my aged tendencies makes me sound even older. Isn’t that what old people do — talk about their age? Next thing you know, I’ll be lamenting how quickly time goes and how I can’t believe how my college-aged neighbor is all grown up!
      Wait, I already do that.

  4. I have only seen the asterisk in front of the words *sigh* or *groan* or *yawn*…. It’s kind of like a stage direction, I think. If the @ shows up, then they’ve done it wrong. If you type in the @ and then start spelling the name of somebody, their FB id pops in there and it alerts the person you’re talking to/about that you did so. Haven’t used schoolfeed. I don’t as a general rule “like” a sad thing; I express a condolence instead. I’m not that lazy.

    I wish I were 36 again :-).

Please leave a comment.

