Rape in the Year 2012

“If I have to listen to one more gray-faced man with a two-dollar haircut explain to me what rape is, I’m gonna lose my mind. I watch these guys and I’m, like, ‘What is happening? Am I a secretary on ‘Mad Men? What’s happening?’”  

–Tina Fey

In light of the latest caveman orating about rape, here are some bits that haven’t gotten as much news, from Jill Filipovic at The Guardian:

  • Sharron Angle, who ran for a US Senate seat out of Nevada, said she would tell a young girl wanting an abortion after being raped and impregnated by her father that “two wrongs don’t make a right” and that she should make a “lemon situation into lemonade“.
  • Douglas Henry, a Tennessee state senator, told his colleagues:  “Rape, ladies and gentlemen, is not today what rape was. Rape, when I was learning these things, was the violation of a chaste woman, against her will, by some party not her spouse.”
  • Republican activist Phyllis Schlafly declared that marital rape doesn’t exist, because when you get married you sign up to be sexually available to your husband at all times.
  • And when asked a few years back about what kind of rape victim should be allowed to have an abortion, South Dakota Republican Bill Napoli answered:  “A real-life description to me would be a rape victim, brutally raped, savaged. The girl was a virgin. She was religious. She planned on saving her virginity until she was married. She was brutalized and raped, sodomized as bad as you can possibly make it, and is impregnated. I mean, that girl could be so messed up, physically and psychologically, that carrying that child could very well threaten her life.”

A final thought, from a friend of mine:  I wonder if all of the politicians, MALE politicians, telling American women that rape is “legitimate” or “God’s will” would tell that to the boys Sandusky raped? Perhaps they could explain the implied irony of God’s will to the boys raped by priests? Or if they were raped themselves–you know, God willing?

4 thoughts on “Rape in the Year 2012

  1. Excellent, I am so tired of hearing commercials on the radio stating that if a women is raped her body automatically knows how to get rid of it……..my, my, I have lived many years and am a clinical therapist and in all my readings I have never heard that. Regarding Phyllis Schlafly….she also thinks women should greet their husbands at the door wrapped in cellophane with a smile on her face………….

  2. Something that frankly blows my mind is; if rape is “God’s will” then isn’t abortion “God’s will also”? Assuming that the person commenting isn’t God, then how can they comment on what is or is not God’s will? This doesn’t blow my mind simply because I’m atheist and can’t fathom religious dogma, it blows my mind because of the fact that these people seem to suggest that they are in fact themselves omnipotent, omniscient and all knowing, or, whatever else God’s supposed to be through a religious lens. Sometimes I wonder what year we live in.

    • Right–the weird irony/hypocrisy is frustrating. In a world where we have choices and aren’t puppets, how can some assert they’re on God’s side, or know his will? I think it was Lincoln who said, during the Civil War, something like, “I can’t claim to know if I’m on God’s side, but I hope he’s on mine.”

Please leave a comment.

