5 Things I Cant-getta-nuffa

Like everyone else on Earth, I like to talk about things I like. Here are a few things I can’t get enough of lately:

1. Music: Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes, especially Man on Fire. That song helped me at a critical point during the half-marathon last week.

2. Shopping:Β Thredup.com — Save the world (or at least the part taken up by landfills filled with barely-used children’s clothing) and pay a mere few dollars for quality stuff.

3. Food: Berry-Yo frozen yogurt with cookie dough. It actually outbalanced my half-marathon training so that I gained weight.Β tumblr_mfhhgz87hi1risuxpo1_400

4. TV: Homeland. Despite Carrie’s constantly anguished face, I love that show. Peter Quinn, the CIA assassin, has become my favorite.

5. Viral shit:Β This video of Louis C.K. on why he won’t let his children have phones. It’s my new parent manual.

I also love that Alice Munro won the Nobel Prize in Literature for her “quiet” work. More on that on Monday.

What can’t you get enough of lately?

35 thoughts on “5 Things I Cant-getta-nuffa

  1. 1. My children and grandchildren. They give meaning to my life in a way nothing else can.
    2. Sunshine. Nothing paints the day positive like a good ole ray of sunshine.
    3. Puppy love. I love my granddog and enjoy playing with him and spoiling him.
    4. Friends and family (including item 1). What can I say when everyone already knows, there is nothing in the world like being with family and friends.
    5.Smiles. I love to receive them, and I spread them around everywhere – even to those I’ve never met.

    • Love that you’re a smiler! I’m sure you’ve read all those studies about smiling at people–lowering the blood pressure, etc., and also that you think you’re surrounded by crabby people in, say, an elevator. And that makes you crabby and more distrustful of people. But if you throw them a smile, suddenly you’re brightening THEIR day, and yours.

  2. I totally hear you on the whole eating outweighing the exercise. I went to a great spin class today and then discovered the most amazing cookies at Trader Joes. Salted Caramel Butter Cookies- I mean, come on!

  3. This is great. Funnily enough, I haven’t watched Homeland, but seeing Claire Danes make that face takes me back to My So-Called Life. Truthfully, I think I’ve had enough of that face. πŸ™‚ But maybe after I am done with being pregnant, I will give that show a shot. I hear it’s good.

  4. I’m pretty sure that yogurt would be on my list, too. As for what I can’t get enough of… we just finished all 93 episodes of Rescue Me and I’m missing it. (I love that Alice Munro won, too!)

  5. OMG Carrie and Homeland is amazing- she plays a crazy woman so well. She deserves an award for her performance in last week’s episode! I agree about the power of music helping you get through runs- it has been helping me get through these first few weeks of getting back into running post- baby.

Please leave a comment.

