Boo!

Hope you’re having an appropriately scary week. We are. A phantom rang our doorbell (but he left a bag of candy on the porch). My son won’t stop singing the What Does the Fox Say song (thank you, my son’s elementary school, for playing it over the speakers during morning announcements). In her school picture, my daughter looks like she’s just been told Santa’s not real.

I’ve had fun reading my guest writer’s scariest experiences. There are more coming, on other topics. I’m not sure what my scariest experience is–there are a few contenders: the moment, in labor, I found out my son’s heartbeat had dropped so low an emergency c-section was ordered now; the moments I was stuck in a traffic jam on an off-ramp that snaked onto the highway and looked into my rearview mirror to see a large van barreling toward me (he veered away, tires screeching, at the last minute); the moment I saw the giant (fake) centipede my sister had placed on my lap.

And I can’t forget the forty-five minutes of pure terror during a ride in an old four-seater hundreds of feet above Lake Michigan, the wind tossing our little plane about like a leaf, with my husband at the wheel. He does not fly, people. This was a lesson. His first lesson. And it was my idea. Mine!

I used to scare myself on purpose–a childhood of Ghost in the Graveyard, Light As a Feather Stiff As a Board, and Friday the 13th. I loved haunted houses and ghost stories. Then, a few years ago, I was sitting in a movie theater with my husband and brother-in-law watching Saw, and thought, “Why am I doing this? This is torture.” That was it.

On a less scary note, I’ve created an Author Page on Facebook. Since you all here at my blog have been among the first to read my writing by choice, and I’m so grateful for it, I’d love to welcome you over there. You can click HERE, or over that-a-way in the righthand sidebar.

Happy trick-or-treating and may you be cursed with many spiderwebs. Enjoy these photos of a family friend’s home decorated for Halloween; she goes all out:

Flip the bathroom light on and you not only get this guy, but a light-activated scream. Fun.

Flip the bathroom light on and you not only get this guy, but a light-activated scream. Fun.

IMG_1830

She actually made this "growth" using weeds from her garden.

She actually made this “growth” using weeds from her garden.

She buys old paintings and colors the eyes red.

She buys old paintings and colors the eyes red.

Freaky mannequin just hanging out in the garden.

Freaky mannequin just hanging out in the garden.

I mean, seriously.

I mean, seriously. Would you sleep here?

IMG_1887

This I can handle.

IMG_1881

I foresee nightmares.

8 thoughts on “Boo!

  1. My boys keep asking me to decorate the house scary for Halloween. They are lucky a pumpkin gets carved and put on the front porch. There’s enough scary real moments in life isn’t there? It kind of grosses me out that we celebrate killing people on Halloween. Bah Humbug!! Just give me some candy!! 🙂

  2. OMG… your friend DOES go all out; I do NOT want to know what is in the elixir of doom. Gross! Thanks for sharing your scary moments, too. I’m like you – not so much into scaring myself the way I was when I was a kid. Do we seem to outgrow that need to be scared? I remember watching ALL the Stephen King movies — Cujo, Christine, Pet Sematary, Children of the Corn– when I was in 7th and 8th grade, and eating it up. Now – I’ll take a drama and cry my eyes out any day. Ha ha.

  3. Oooh . . . with Nate (#4) I had that heartbeat scare. My husband was ordered to put on scrubs. They got the bed ready to roll, had me on oxygen, etc. Then my doctor came in and saved the day within minutes. (He had been with another patient so I had the floor doctor on call with me.)

    I’m trying to think of a good one for my guest post. I think I’ve decided on it!

Please leave a comment.

