Barn Happy

It’s frigid again today—blue sky sunny sort of frigid. The coldest winter days are always the sunniest. The children are off school for the third time this month; tomorrow will mark the fourth. Thankfully, some neighbors asked them to play, so they get rid of some cabin fever and I get to write.

When I was a girl, I begged my parents to move us to a farm. (My son does the same to me now; can this really be genetic?) I would clip bits from the real estate section of the newspaper advertising farms in Wisconsin for sale and present my case to them. It never worked and, alas, we stayed in our suburban home my entire childhood.

I now live in that same suburb, in a 1925 farmhouse (of course). There are four original barns left in this entire sprawling suburb, and I’m lucky enough to be able to see one of them, our neighbor’s, from the window next to my writing desk:

IMG_2697

Not bad, right?

Looking at this barn seems to stimulate all the thoughts swirling in my head, all the stories. Every morning, I open my blinds and I am happy to see the barn standing there, as it has for over one hundred years.

The anxious anticipation of releasing a book in a few months is becoming stronger. This barn keeps the anxiety at bay and reminds me that there are many stories to tell and I will continue telling them. One book is one book. There are others to come.

My publisher emailed me the other day with my first Goodreads review, pre-release (my book comes out April 22). I’m happy in a barn sort of way to share it with you here. I don’t know this person, but I love her for making my first review ever as an author a good one:

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/795251709?book_show_action=true

BOOK REVIEWERS: An advance copy of my novel, The Rooms Are Filled, is now on NetGalley. Click HERE to request an e-book.

26 thoughts on “Barn Happy

  1. Congrats on your first (and good) review! I expect it must be a relief, to have that over with, right? Because no matter what other reviews you get, you’ve at least appealed to one other person. At least that’s how I expect to feel. 🙂

  2. Jess,
    What a great review! I’m so proud of you, I believe this is only the beginning to a great future of writing. Love you 😉

  3. Congrats! What a great review! And love the barn. I’ve always wanted to live on a farm but here I am stuck in a neighborhood too. And my son wants to grow up to build barns. 😉

  4. Congratulations! I loved the review. And I love this post. It gives me peace. Your writing always gives me peace, even through the uneasy bit. I guess I just love your soothing voice.

  5. I would love to see a barn like that from my window. My view is off a white shed and other apartments. lol I once lived in a house styled much like a barn and it was so cozy. 🙂

    Congrats on your first review! It was a good one!

  6. Ohhh …ohhh … ohhh! Cant’ wait to read your book. I loved this post, Jess. That something that old remains in your suburban neighborhood — and your draw to farm life — gave me chills. I grew up on the edge of one of my grandfather’s many cornfields and spent lots of time on his farm around the dairy cattle, pigs, silos, and machinery. But I don’t think that ‘counts’ as growing up ON a farm. One way or the other: I wouldn’t change it for the world. I totally ‘get’ your draw to the rural lifestyle, which is why, of course, I live in the middle of nowhere in the desert – dairy farms replaced with sprawling cattle ranches.

    Congrats on your first good review! Many more to come, I’m sure!

    • I am JEAL-ous. Since you love it, you’re lucky that you were exposed to rural life early on. I’ve always thought I would love it, but you grow up, you’re used to a certain lifestyle, you start a family in that same lifestyle…it’s hard to change.
      And thanks so much for your excitement!!

  7. I live across the street from a barn and a sprawling field. My view soothes and inspires me every day. Congratulations on your book!!

Please leave a comment.

