Author Road Trip Part I — Denver to Jackson, WY

There aren’t many things I love more than road trips. I’ll find any excuse to take one. So when my friend, Danielle, offered to help organize a book event for The Rooms Are Filled in Denver, where she lives, obviously my next thought was: “My brother- and sister-in-law live in Boise.” My thought after that was, “My uncle lives in Bend, Oregon.” And then: “My friend Melanie lives in Portland.”

A road trip was born.  I am hard-pressed to think of a more enjoyable way to celebrate my book.

My husband and I flew into Denver on Sunday and, being from Chicago—land of the polar vortex—we were welcomed with the gift of a snowstorm and 27 degrees. I gave a reading at The Tattered Cover on Monday night, and we left Tuesday morning in our rental car, ending the day in Jackson, Wyoming.

We’ve got 1,200 miles to go in 6 days. I’ll be posting pictures of my first-ever Author Road Trip along the way. Enjoy!

Speaking

I loved reading at The Tattered Cover. The staffers and their whole tradition was lovely. For instance:

writing in guest book

Here is events manager Michael Cruikshank asking me to sign their guest book–right alongside the likes of Amy Tan and Doris Kearns Goodwin. It took me about negative 2/10ths of a second to think about it, but I agreed. They also gave me a metal bookmark with “The Tattered Cover” on one side, and my name and the date on the other. I almost cried.

IMG_0259

Two lonely rock columns in northern Colorado. Aren’t they a wonder?

IMG_0261

The Rockies in northern CO.

I'm not sure if it's just the logo, or if an actual horse picks you up to take you home from the bar.

Laramie, WY. I’m not sure if it’s just their logo, or if an actual horse picks you up to take you home from the bar.

southern Wyoming

southern Wyoming

The REALLY want you to know there are deer in the area

They REALLY want you to know there are deer in the area. These are not like the little silhouette signs we have in the Midwest.

Our hotel in Jackson. They gave us the Cowboy Themed room, which really isn't as bad as I anticipated. Just a lot of leather and wood and antler lamps that are actually very cute.

Our hotel in Jackson, taken from a moving car. They gave us the Cowboy Themed room, which really isn’t as bad as I anticipated. Just a lot of leather and wood and antler lamps that are actually very cute. I wanted to take another picture of our hotel without the huge yellow walking sign, but I was too tired and my husband’s driving was giving me mini heart attacks.

The only bad view all day--the oil refinery in Sinclair. I know--I'm driving and complaining about oil wells. I'm looking forward to the day they make affordable, greener cars.

The only bad view all day–the oil refinery in Sinclair, WY. I know–I’m driving and complaining about oil. I’m looking forward to the day they make affordable, greener cars.

ON TO BOISE!

Road-trip selfie

Road-trip selfie. My husband isn’t mean, despite the picture.

25 thoughts on “Author Road Trip Part I — Denver to Jackson, WY

  1. What fun! A book-tour road trip with hubby. I love it; and the area of the country you were in is one of my favorites as well. Pretty sure the personalized bookmark and guestbook would have made me want to cry as well!

  2. You know what’s funny about those rock columns? They’re fake- they’re actually cell phone towers in disguise! 🙂

  3. This is just incredibly great, Jess. I love that you’re taking the author book tour and making it not only an adventure, but you’re making it fun! I love love love that part of the world, where my roots settled here in the US. Enjoy and thanks for keeping us along as part of your journey! xo

  4. Pingback: Author Road Trip, Day 2: Jackson to Boise « True STORIES.

  5. Pingback: Author Road Trip, Day 2: Jackson to Boise | PDXX Collective

Please leave a comment.

