The Rooms Are Filled *Sale!*

Morning, all. I hope your Thanksgivings were full of good food and the warm comfort of friends and family.

In honor of Small Business Saturday (what are we writers if not small businesses?) and of Cyber Monday, She Writes Press and I are putting the e-book version of The Rooms Are Filled on sale–99 cents today through Monday.

Click HERE to get it. Or please consider sharing this post with a friend.

jpegThe Rooms Are Filled is based on a true story about the friendship between a nine-year-old boy and his closeted teacher. Here’s what I wrote about my book on Goodreads:

There are many reasons The Rooms Are Filled is dear to me. It was written at home in bits and pieces between breastfeedings, in a midnight daze on the notebook beside my bed, and on scraps of paper in the preschool pick-up line; then, later, during the precious hours the babysitter came.

It is dear to me because it is based on a story my father told me many years ago–his story of growing up in rural Minnesota and then Franklin Park, Illinois, in the 1950s. He was teased  and his lovely teacher, a rumored lesbian, took him under her wing.

But it is also based in my own childhood near Chicago in the 1980s, on my love for that childhood of candy store trips and swimming pools. Of wandering.

It is dear to me because it is my first book, filled with things I love. I am happy to share it with you.

And I’m happy to share it with you, too. I’ll be posting the first chapter in full on this blog on Monday, so keep an eye out.

The Rooms Are Filled 99-CENT SALE

2 thoughts on “The Rooms Are Filled *Sale!*

Please leave a comment.

