Meet: My Mom

I saw my mother today and then came upon this old post. It gives a pretty good summation–though nowhere near exhaustive–of who she is.

Three years later, three more years of being a mother myself, and now I can add some important things to it, things I recognize as so very mothering:

–She dove fearlessly into the world of BRCA surgeries, going last (after me and my sister) so she could care for us through our difficult recoveries.
–She once waved a cheerful goodbye to me and my sister as we drove off on a three-week road trip across the country by ourselves, and only told us once we got home that it was the worst three weeks of her life.
–She is the first person my sister calls when there’s a rabid raccoon in her yard, the first person my brother calls when he is sick, and the first person I call when one of my children is sick and I’m unsure what to do.

Happy Mother’s Day, every day.

True STORIES.

For Mother’s Day, an early Monday Morning Meeting:

My mom…

  • Was born and raised on the northwest side of Chicago and attended Catholic school there. (She will forever say the word “nun” with some disdain.)
  • Lost her mother to pancreatic cancer when she was a freshman in college; afterward, she dropped out to help at home with her younger siblings.
  • Became the first flight attendant instructor without a college degree at United Airlines by walking into her boss’s office and insisting she could do it, back when female employees were weighed and had to be single.
  • Earned her Bachelor’s and Master’s in Psychology while raising three children. She now works with mentally disabled adults and runs her own consulting business.
  • Forced us to sit and wait on the stairs Christmas morning until she’d made her first cup of coffee.
  • Loves ham. And also Red Hots.
  • Let us take one “mental…

View original post 331 more words

8 thoughts on “Meet: My Mom

  1. I love this so much. I missed your initial post so I’m glad I got a chance to read it! Your mom sounds wonderful. (And I’m not only saying that because I made — still make — my children wait to “come down” on Christmas morning until I make coffee. But I especially love that she’s still the first one you call!

  2. This is awesome. Since your mom is my best friend, I know what a wonderful person she is and also what a wonderful mom she is. I was around when she became a mom. She is now in wonderful grandmother stage. I love your awesome comments about your mom. And you are very lucky to have her!

    Love, Carolyn

  3. Your mother sounds truly incredible, Jess. Sounds like you’re following in her footsteps.

Please leave a comment.

